Banks in Papua New Guinea

Following are the major banks in Papua New Guinea:

National Development Bank (NDB) - It is the development finance institution of Papua New Guinea. NDB is wholly owned by the Independent Public Business Corporation as Trustee for the State and people of Papua New Guinea. The Bank offers a range of products and services such as long term agriculture and commercial loans, credit scheme loans including the fisheries credit facility and the SBDC Credit Guarantee Scheme. The Bank has also launched into commercial microfinance in 2007.

Bank South Pacific (BSP) - It is Papua New Guinea's largest bank, with many branches nationwide and an extensive ATM network. Bank South Pacific is also one of the largest non-government employers in the country.

Bank of Papua New Guinea - It is the central bank for Papua New Guinea, and was established by the Act of Parliament (Central Banking Act, 1973) which defines its powers and functions.

Maybank (PNG) - It is a wholly owned banking subsidiary of Maybank, with the approval to undertake a range of commercial banking activities in Papua New Guinea in October 1994.

Westpac Papua New Guinea - It offers a full range of business banking products including: Term deposits, Cheque account, Term loans, Overseas transfers, Insurance premium funding, Leasing, Payroll services, Trade finance. Personal banking services include Term deposits, Personal loans, Home loans, etc.

ANZ in Papua New Guinea - Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (PNG) Limited ("ANZ Papua New Guinea") was founded in 1976, following the granting of self-government to Papua New Guinea. It offers a full range of retail and business accounts, deposit and loan facilities, leasing, international trade finance and treasury services, Kina currency credit cards, EFTPOS facilities and local debit cards.

* Next: Port Moresby Stock Exchange