Financial Institutions in India

Financial institutions in India are divided into two types:
- Regulatory Institutions
- Intermediary Financial Institutions (Banking/ Non Banking)

The regulatory bodies of the financial institutions in India include: Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), Central Board of Excise & Customs, Reserve Bank of India, Securities and Exchanges Board of India (SEBI).

Reserve Bank of India was established on 1 April 1935 in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. It is the central bank of the country entrusted with monetary stability, management of currency, supervision of the financial and the payments system.

Some of the specialized financial institutions in India are:
  • Securities Trading Corporation of India Ltd. (STCI)
  • Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI)
  • Industrial Investment Bank of India
  • Small Industries Development Bank of India (SIDBI)
  • National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD)
  • Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC)
  • General Insurance Corporation of India (GIC)
  • Shipping Credit and Investment Company of India Ltd. (SCICI)
  • Housing and Urban Development Corporation Ltd. (HUDCO)
  • National Housing Bank (NHB)
  • Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India Ltd.
  • Export Import Bank of India (EXIM)
  • Industrial Credit and Investment Corporation of India (ICICI)
  • Industrial Finance Corporation of India (IFCI)
  • Unit Trust of India
* Next: Top Microfinance Institutions in India